Māori Battalion swimming team, 1941

Members of the Battalion's 10-man relay team that won the Freyberg Cup at the New Zealand Divisional swimming competition held at Helwan in Egypt on 8 July 1941. (See the Battalion Battle Diary for more). 

Left to right:  2/Lt Ruhi Pene (Rotorua), 2/Lt Rangi Logan (Waipaoa), Ptes Ceylon Wickliffe (Rotorua),  Rangi Chase? (Danniverke), Pine Timihou (Rotorua), John Pene (Rotorua), Jack Mikaere (Rotorua),  Wi Heretaunga? (Rotorua), Haane Manahi (Rotorua) and George Harrison (Taranaki). 

Note:  Reuben Pene has been referenced in this photograph in Soutar's Nga Tama Toa. However, Reuben Pene did not go over until a later reinforcement.  John and Ruhi Pene were in Egypt at this time.    


Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: DA-1371
Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.
Submitted by mbadmin on

Comments (0)